Before PT School

What Should You Major In?

Your major isn’t important for getting into PT school, so choose what you love. My class is mostly biology or kinesiology majors, but some other majors include psychology, business, accounting, and english. As long as you do well in your classes and take all the pre-reqs, that’s all that matters.

I recommend majoring in something you love, but something that’s practical. Chemistry, physics, or biology may be easier for you to complete all your pre-requisites since those classes are required by the major. However, those degrees are not the most practical unless you also get a Masters or PhD. If I had to re-do my undergrad education, I would have considered majors like Engineering or Computer Science, so I would have a much better chance at finding a job with only a bachelor’s degree.

I would advise against not choosing a Pre-Physical Therapy, Exercise Science, or Kinesiology majors unless you are 100% sure that you want to go into those career fields as a PT, Athletic trainer, Researcher, Teacher, etc. I’m sure there are other jobs that you can do but you are really stuck with few options for a career, which would be unfortunate if you decide that you don’t actually want to have a career in any of those fields and not have a good backup plan.

Lots of people don’t know what they want to major in when they first begin college. It can take several years to figure out what you want your major to be, and that’s okay. Make sure to talk to as many people as possible, including academic advisors, professors, friends, family members, and physical therapists.

divider2

Other Resources

Here are some links about high school/college that you may find helpful. The website is really active and I used it a lot in college and when I applied to grad school, so look around there and ask questions if you want others’ advice too!

Advice for undergrad freshmen
What is your undergraduate degree?
HS student needs help to make a pathway to PT
Bachelor’s Degree: PT Related vs. Unrelated
Recent high school graduate, solid plan for physical therapy?
Comunity college courses and PT school
Experiences taking pre-reqs at community college
Question on Exercise Science major

2 thoughts on “What Should You Major In?”

  1. I have always known that I wanted to be in the medical field and was pursing nursing for a long time. I recently realized after working at a chiropractic office that PT is where my heart is. I changed my major to Biology but I did notice in this post that you thought computer science would be an acceptable major. My boyfriend has a Bachelors of Computer Science and I almost changed my major to C.S. this last year. I was just wondering if you had any thoughts or advice on this?

    1. Hey Devon! Sorry for the delay in responding to your comment! I haven’t checked my blog in a few months, so I just saw this today!

      I guess those were just examples of majors to consider, but in reality, any major is acceptable for PT school. Programs really only care that you have a bachelors degree, and that you did well in the pre-requisite courses. The more typical majors (biology, exercise science, psycholog) may help you a bit with PT school curriculum and may better prepare you for higher grades in the pre-req courses, but admissions committees don’t care what your actual degree is.

      I don’t necessarily recommend Biology as a bachelors degree, although I did love taking all the biology courses. You can’t do much with Biology if graduate school doesn’t pan out for you (dentistry, veterinary medicine, med school, pt school, etc). That’s one of the reasons that I listed Computer Science – you can get a decent job with a bachelors in Computer Science (at least compared to Biology).

      I’d say to major in whatever you think is best! Choose what classes you are interested in, make sure you also take the pre-reqs for PT along with your classes for your major, and make sure you have a back-up plan if PT does not work out for you.

      Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

